Weird Pole In Verdun

I remember walking in Verdun with my friends yesterday. We were those crazy three teenagers, you know, those hyper ones, walking around, maybe pranking a little, but mainly having fun. Time passed and we got hungry, so we decided to get a snack. After getting a typical batata me2liyye (French fries), we sat down and chatted. In the midst of our lively conversation, I finally took y eyes off my friends and our shared meal to look up and be astonished. I looked up to see a pole with the word “shaz” (offensive term to homosexual men) written on it. When I first saw it, I let out a typical Lebanese “yih!” Which was a terrible mistake since it aroused my friend’s curiosity. I was really offended and puzzled. My thoughts became louder than our conversation, did the person who wrote that mean to offend me? Was it a self-hating gay guy?

20121111-150332.jpg
That infamous pole, wonder if the letters are clear now…
After a while, and with a little help from my friends, I began to cheer and have fun. I decided that it might be someone’s nickname and not to worry about it anymore since it was written in English and not Arabic.
In the end, I had one of the best nights of my life.

Leave a Reply

