My Childhood Heroine, Mulan

Recently, I’ve been writing about memories or events that happened in my childhood. So now, I’m gonna talk about my favorite Disney movie that made my days, and made my childhood what it was. I’m gonna talk about that heroine that was my role model, not only because of her braveness but also because of sense of gender equality. And that famous character is Mulan.

20121220-210322.jpg
When I first watched that movie, I was at young age. And around that time I was having troubles with my identity. I used to be different than other guys. I didn’t like cars or dinosaurs or playing violent games, I liked pinky ponies and Legos and animals, so-obviously-I used to be bullied. It was around that time when I felt different, I felt like an outsider, I felt like a mistake, I felt all of that until I watched that movie. After I saw how the courageous Mulan took her father’s place in the army and how she dealt with being herself in front of others I felt better, I could actually (in a way or another) relate to someone! I no longer felt unsafe or misunderstood! And day after day, I began accepting myself for who I was. And on top of that, she taught me a lot about gender equality and somehow got me closer to the LGBT society, being the only Disney film portraying transsexualism and one of the firsts films to portray it as a normal case. Mulan made me as courageous as she was, and she taught me that being different isn’t always so bad, in the contrary, combining soft and harsh could bring up some nice results. And for that, she deserves a thank you.

20121220-211605.jpg
Mulan whether you were real or not, thank you for making my childhood…

4 thoughts on “My Childhood Heroine, Mulan

  1. Hi, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Opera, it looks fine but when
    opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, superb blog!

    • Hey, how are you?
      Being an amateur to WordPress and not really a professional with computers, I don’t know the cause of the problem. But I’ll try my best to fix it.
      Thanks, hope you’re enjoying my blog.

  2. Hello, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in
    Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, amazing blog!

    • Hello Raleigh!
      I will try to fix these issues as soon as possible. Other than that we all know how Internet Explorer can be slow sometimes, but I’ll still try my best!
      Thank you šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

