My Response To Mohammad Skandar

One day, in our routine of promenading along our village’s “New Road”, I noticed my best friend was disturbed. This wasn’t unusual, so I asked for the reason of her annoyance. She told me: “Haven’t you listened to Mohammad Iskandar’s new song? It’s so annoying! It seems like he wants to piff-paff them (get rid of them)!” I was confused. I asked her: “Who? What? Why?” She just answered with a simple: “Listen to Dod L 3enf.” Her words were glued on my mind. The curiosity flipped through the hours until I reached home, opened my laptop, and watched. And as soon as it ended (and I got a clear translation of the lyrics) I honestly have to say: I don’t give a damn. I honestly don’t give a damn about what he think, because come on, he represents the majority of the people I know, the majority of those singers. The only difference is that he actually speaks up. It doesn’t matter to me, but it might matter to the self-doubting gay kid. It might matter to that young child who feels different. It might matter to the depressed closeted guy.it might matter to the suicidal teen. My response to him: I don’t care about what you think, but I care about my fellow LGBT people, those who are already oppressed and can’t handle the heavy burden anymore. So I flagged or reported his video, not for me, but for those whose sanity and life depend on it.
I have to thank Helm and Canada for banning him to make his concert there due to the homophobia and sexism found in his songs.

Leave a Reply

